gubster's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

here we go again.....

It was glaringly obvious that this is not anything like The Netherlands, as I stepped out of new street station I was greeted by crowds of smokers unhealthily huddled in a cold breeze puffing away 10 meters from the entrance. Large �Thank you for not smoking� signs gaudily thrown up everywhere I looked. I wonder if these exiled smokers think of their Dutch counterparts, in cosy warm accepting �browns� cafes, with jealousy.

Crowds of smokers at every entrance and exit point, is not the only thing I forgot about after nearly being hit by the traffic (all going in the wrong direction!!) I was also hit by a blast of all the other things familiar, all the things I had forgotten about in my dreamy idyllic countryside of Utrecht, new books new music new everything, yes I hit the commercial centre within hours of my arrival now I want everything a new phone a new Mac new clothes I want I want I want I want I want ��.Well I did get a new life complete with new house, new housemates, new number, new bank acc, within 6 hours of arrival so a few extras wouldn�t hurt Although at the moment I am wondering around campus with a hole in my new bank account and in my old shoes. I feel like a bad country western song.

These people all look so cold and harsh and my street is very bizarre, it�s like being dropped in the middle of those soaps on T.V. My next door neighbour is a character and the shops are in a funny order, there is a bridal shop next to a tattoo parlour and I can avail of double glazing, a new toilet or computer parts 24 hours a day�very weird! But the excitement of roaming around another new city was deadned a bit by a tinge of loneliness as I know no one here, thank God for phones I would have died! But borders, starbucks, and bacon quickly healed that pain!

And so I have traded my lovely apartment for a creaky old house, my bike for a smelly bus, my kitchen complete with all sorts of lovely things for a kitchen with one pot!! My pancake house for a greasy 'golden cafe ' where the items on the menu could be mistaken for dog food my country side fro a very busy road ( I can hear the cars trundling up and down now) But having said all that generally so far I like it. I am amazed at how quickly I got settled, and arranged everything. I am excited to start a new project excited to see what is on offer here for me, and excited to see what the people are like. So generally you could say I am excited!

2:36 p.m. - 2007-11-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: